The Angry Video Game Nerd: Season 3
R0 - America - Cinemassacre/Screenwave Media
Review written by and copyright: James-Masaki Ryan (15th February 2017).
The Show

“The Angry Video Game Nerd: Season 3” (2008)

The web series “Angry Video Game Nerd” has been a continuous mainstay on YouTube for over 10 years now - a lone white button-up shirt wearing nerd that plays terrible retro games and takes out his frustration with Rolling Rock beer and loud outbursts of obscenities. Conceptually it sounds like many other YouTube channels of useless videos of so called critics commenting haphazardly and without merit, but writer/director/star James Rolfe sets his show apart from others with creative production work, witty scriptwriting, great editing, and rewatchability. While episodes used to come every two weeks, Rolfe started to slow down the pace of AVGN episodes to concentrate on other work - other web series such as “Board James” and “James & Mike Mondays”, and the theatrical feature film “Angry Video Game Nerd: The Movie”.

The AVGN web series had been released on the DVD format in separate volumes 1-8. Recently, they have been re-released with new artwork and newly remastered discs along with the release of the 9th collection. The re-released collections are now labeled “Season” rather than “Volume” and the latest release is coined “Season 9”.

For all the re-released seasons, the discs have been re-authored completely. "Volume 3" had 3 single-layer DVDs with the episodes and extras divided along the discs. The reissued "Season 3" has all content on a 1 disc dual-layer DVD. The menu screen on the left is for the older DVD release. The one on the right is the reissued DVD release.

Both releases contain the same following episodes. Note that a * symbol means the theme song intros have been reinstated to the episode on the "Season" set. On the "Volume" set the intro was a separate extra.

- "Chronologically Confused 2: The Legend of Zelda Timeline" (16:31)
- "Rambo" (12:03)
- "Virtual Boy" (15:25)
- "The Wizard of Oz" (11:04)
- "DoubleVision" Part 1 (9:49) *
- "DoubleVision" Part 2 (8:10)
- "Super Mario Bros. 3" (10:24)
- "NES Accessories" (13:36) *
- "Indiana Jones Trilogy" (18:36)
- "Star Trek" (10:23)
- "Superman" (10:45)
- "Superman 64" (9:42)
- "Batman" Part 1 (10:34)
- "Batman" Part 2 (9:30)
- "Deadly Towers" (8:06)
- "Battletoads" (7:24)
- "Dick Tracy" (13:57)
- "Dracula" (11:20)
- "Frankenstein" (13:51)
- "CD-i Games Part 1: Hotel Mario” (6:35)
- "CD-i Games Part 2: Zelda CD-I” (11:33)
- "CD-i Games Part 3: More Zelda” (13:23)
- "Bible Games 2" (16:48)

Also note the following episodes have content changed from the original versions, due to copyright or updates, bot h on the "Volume" set and the "Season" set:
- On “Virtual Boy”, a clip from the movie “Waterworld” has been removed and a scene with the game "Jack Bros." has been added.
- On “DoubleVision” Part 2, the theme from “2001: A Space Odyssey” (“Also Sprach Zarathustra” by Strauss) has been replaced.
- On “Super Mario Bros. 3”, the review for the movie “The Wizard” including footage from the film has been removed.
- On “Indiana Jones”, footage from the Taito editions of “Temple of Doom” and “Last Crusade” have been added.
- On “Dick Tracy”, footage of the movie has been replaced with stills. Also, there is a newly added scene.


The videos were shot and edited in standard definition in the 1.33:1 aspect ratio. Both the original and reissued sets include all the episodes in non-anamorphic 1.33:1 in the NTSC standard. Comparing the older DVD release and reissued DVD release, the video quality slightly differs. The older release suffered from interlacing issues that caused ghosting and vertical lines of the previous frame can be seen on scenes with fast motion. The reissued release is a progressive transfer and the motion is smoother and cleaner. Some shots look nearly identical at glance but on inspection there are certain shots where the reissue is superior while others the older release is superior.

For the following screenshots the original "Volume" release is first, the reissued "Season" release is second:

Overall, the progressive transfers of the reissues are the improved points while the minutely softer image of the reissues may be due to compressing all the content to a single DVD.


English Dolby Digital 2.0 stereo
Both releases offer the same Dolby Digital track. Both use stereo separation for the background music, effects, and introduction while almost all the video game music and dialogue is center based. There are no issues to speak of except in terms of original source material fidelity.

There are no subtitles offered.


The extras are slightly different on both releases. The BOLD portions are exclusives.

"Volume 3"
Intro (2:54)
“2008 Top Ten” featurette (12:48)
“Fan Art” gallery (5:38)
“Fan Songs” featurette (2:43)
First Song Recording from 2006 (1:37)
Outtakes (with Play All function) (7:06)
- “Metal Gear” (0:30)
- “Atari Jaguar” (1:31)
- “Frankenstein” (0:29)
- “Battletoads” (4:35)
“Donkey Kong” featurette (0:18)
“Nerd Room” featurette (23:31)
19 Trailers (with Play All function) (14:22)
"Holy Shit" (0:03) (easter egg)
"Monkey Cheese" (0:03) (easter egg)

"Season 3"
AVGN Intro (2:54)
“Donkey Kong Doll Clip” featurette (0:16)
"Angry Nintendo Nerd Theme Recording Session" featurette (1:28)
“2008 Top Ten” featurette (12:48)
“Fan Art Reel” featurette (5:39)
“Fan Songs Reel” featurette (2:44)
"Nerd Room Tour (2009)" featurette (23:32)
Outtakes (with Play All function) (7:06)
- “Metal Gear” (0:27)
- “Atari Jaguar” (1:27)
- “Battletoads” (6:47) (extended)
- “Frankenstein” (0:26)

The older "Volume 3" set exclusively has 19 YouTube trailers and two very short easter eggs. The reissued "Season 3" set gets about two additional minutes of outtakes from the "Battletoads" episode. As mentioned in the "Volume 2/Season 2" comparison, the "Volume 2" set included outtakes of 5 episodes featured in the "3" set. They include “Virtual Boy” (0:24), “Wizard of Oz” (4:06), “Super Mario Bros. 3” (1:50), “Doublevision” (1:01), “Star Trek” (1:48). They were not carried over to the reissued "Season 2" set or this "Season 3" set where it would have been more appropriate. These are the biggest losses from the reissued sets.


Both releases have differing artwork, done by Cinemassacre's Mike Matei.

The re-released season sets 1-8 and season 9 have continuous spines which if lined up create the full artwork, similar to that of "Dragon Ball" comics, Oscilloscope Laboratories DVDs, and the “Star Trek” I-VI VHS boxset.


"The Angry Video Game Nerd: Season 3" is a bit of an upgrade with the new video transfers that improve by being progressive and with better sharpness (though still a bit soft). The reissue gains some additional outtakes for one episode, it loses a few extras from the older release. The older DVDs are out of print and harder to come by, so for fans wanting a physical media release on DVD the reissued "Season 3" set is still recommended for hours of anger filled retro gaming fun.

The Show: A Video: B Audio: B Extras: A- Overall: A-


DVD Compare is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program and the Amazon Europe S.a.r.l. Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to,,,, and